eCite Digital Repository

Diemen Quartet and Heather Monkhouse


Monkhouse, H and Williams, JD and St Leon, J and Conroy, B, Diemen Quartet and Heather Monkhouse, Diemen Quartet, St Georges Church, Battery Point, Hobart (2012) [Performance]

PDF (flyer)

Copyright Statement

Copyright Unknown.

Official URL:


Diemen Quartet and Heather Monkhouse is the second of a series of concerts 'Beethoven and his Contemporaries.' Each program features a seminal Beethoven quartet, and contextualises Beethoven's style and instrumental approach by performing works by other composers of Beethoven's period. This program includes Beethoven's Quartet in C Op. 59. No. 3, written in 1808 and Henrik Crusell's Clarinet Quartet in Eflat Major, No. 1, Op. 2 written around 1807. Crusell was one of the greatest clarinet virtuosi of his time. Born in Finland in 1775 he studied composition in Paris and Berlin. An admirer of opera he translated a number of the most popular operas of his time for their premiere performances in Sweden, including Mozart's le Nozze di Figaro, Beethoven's Fidelio and Rossini's Barber of Seville. Crusell's music is vital, melodious and skilfully written with a Schubertian sense of phrasing that allows the clarinet to shine without compromising the intimacy and conversational interplay amongst strings and clarinet that pervades this quartet.

Item Details

Item Type:Performance
Keywords:Music, Performance, Chamber Music, Clarinet Quartet, Crusell
Research Division:Creative Arts and Writing
Research Group:Music
Research Field:Musicology and ethnomusicology
Objective Division:Culture and Society
Objective Group:Arts
Objective Field:The performing arts
UTAS Author:Monkhouse, H (Associate Professor Heather Monkhouse)
UTAS Author:Williams, JD (Mr Jeremy Williams)
UTAS Author:St Leon, J (Ms Jo St Leon)
ID Code:90465
Year Published:2012
Deposited By:School of Creative Arts and Media
Deposited On:2014-04-07
Last Modified:2017-11-16
Downloads:379 View Download Statistics

Repository Staff Only: item control page