eCite Digital Repository

Australian International Symphony Orchestra Institute


Legg, AFJ, Australian International Symphony Orchestra Institute, City Hall, Hobart (2012) [Curated Exhibition]

Copyright Statement

Copyright unknown


This year’s program promises to be one of our finest ever with an offering of musical masterpieces spanning 150 years of orchestral music. AISOI offers an intensive two-week period of professional training to Australia’s finest aspiring orchestral musicians and conductors. After a compelling performance of Bruckner’s 8th symphony in 2010, the inspirational Arvo Volmer returns to conduct Mahler’s 5th symphony; a work that takes us on an emotional journey from the depths of depression to uplifting joy. The winner of the 2012 AISOI cello competition will perform Haydn’s exquisite concerto in C major for cello and orchestra. In the second week, we welcome the charismatic Kristjan Järvi for the first time to AISOI. Kristjan will conduct an electrifying program of dance-inspired music, which includes Kodály’s colourful and energetic Dances of Galánta, Stravinsky’s magical Burlesque, Petrushka and Prokofiev’s ballet music to the world’s greatest love story, Romeo and Juliet. The Emerging Conductors’ program continues to train the next generation of young conductors. The course concludes with a public performance on Friday 14 December.

Item Details

Item Type:Curated Exhibition
Keywords:Australian International Symphony Orchestra Institute; AISOI;
Research Division:Creative Arts and Writing
Research Group:Music
Research Field:Music performance
Objective Division:Culture and Society
Objective Group:Arts
Objective Field:The performing arts
UTAS Author:Legg, AFJ (Associate Professor Andrew Legg)
ID Code:89966
Year Published:2012
Deposited By:School of Creative Arts and Media
Deposited On:2014-03-20
Last Modified:2018-04-06

Repository Staff Only: item control page