eCite Digital Repository

A four category scheme for coding and assessing the level of reflection in written work


Kember, DR and McKay, J and Sinclair, K and Wong, F, A four category scheme for coding and assessing the level of reflection in written work, Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education: An International Journal, 33, (4) pp. 369-379. ISSN 1469-297X (2008) [Refereed Article]

Copyright Statement

Copyright 2008 Taylor and Francis

DOI: doi:10.1080/02602930701293355


Where courses have as an aim the promotion of reflective practice, it will enhance the achievement of the goal if the level of reflective thinking is assessed. To do this in a satisfactory way requires a reliable protocol for assessing the level of reflection in written work. This article presents a protocol that can be used to guide the allocation of work to four categories, namely: habitual action/non-reflection, understanding, reflection, and critical reflection. Intermediate categories can also be used. Detailed descriptors of each category to guide the process are provided. The protocol was tested by four assessors independently using it to grade a set of written work, and very good agreement was obtained. © 2008 Taylor & Francis.

Item Details

Item Type:Refereed Article
Research Division:Education
Research Group:Education systems
Research Field:Higher education
Objective Division:Education and Training
Objective Group:Learner and learning
Objective Field:Learner and learning not elsewhere classified
UTAS Author:Kember, DR (Professor David Kember)
ID Code:84508
Year Published:2008
Web of Science® Times Cited:172
Deposited By:Education
Deposited On:2013-05-15
Last Modified:2015-03-05

Repository Staff Only: item control page