eCite Digital Repository



Haywood, N, Conjurer, Jazzhead Records and Extempore, Melbourne, VIC, Australia, 2012, pp. all (2012) [Published Creative Work]


Better known for his multi‐award winning music, and a lifetime of jazz across all its genres, Conjuror reveals, not surprisingly, that Browne’s first poetry and music collection is strikingly vibrant and original. The music compositions are based on 7 of the poems from the 92 pg book; each piece features Allan’s spoken words, sparingly integrated within or around the music. Performed by The Allan Browne Sextet, compositions by Allan Browne, Eugene Ball, Marc Hannaford and Geoff Hughes, the Sextet also feature Nick Haywood and Phillip Noy. This journal represents a Browne whom even his most loyal fans may never have met. Ever the raconteur, jazz and jazz musicians figure prominently, as do his family and the twists and turns of his fascinating journey.

Item Details

Item Type:Published Creative Work
Keywords:Haywood,Browne, Ball, Hughes, Hannaford, Noy
Research Division:Creative Arts and Writing
Research Group:Music
Research Field:Music performance
Objective Division:Culture and Society
Objective Group:Arts
Objective Field:Music
UTAS Author:Haywood, N (Dr Nick Haywood)
ID Code:82837
Year Published:2012
Deposited By:Conservatorium of Music
Deposited On:2013-02-19
Last Modified:2017-11-17

Repository Staff Only: item control page