eCite Digital Repository

Australian International Symphony Orchestra Institute: Harness the Fire


Legg, A, Australian International Symphony Orchestra Institute: Harness the Fire, City Hall and Conservatorium of Music (2012) [Curated Exhibition]

Copyright Statement

Copyright unknown


Andrew Legg is the curator and convenor for the Australian International Symphony Orchestra Institute (AISOI), Australiaís premier orchestral training and classical music performance school. He is advisor to the Artistic Director and is ultimately responsible for artistic/program vision and oversight, and for strategic planning, production coordination, marketing, budgeting, and promotion and strengthening of the AISOI brand in the national and international market.

AISOI now attracts 120 of the Asia-Pacificís brightest and best young classical orchestral musicians to Tasmania for a two week-intensive orchestral experience. Modelled on professional practice, AISOI is supported by the members and management of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, principal players from WASO, MSO, and SSO, and other internationally accredited musicians from Conservatoriums in Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Sydney.

Students undergo a professional, industry-quality experience from the audition phase through to instrumental workshops, orchestral excerpt classes, lectures and orchestral master classes and major rehearsals with two international conductors. Focussing on large scale works not normally available to students of this age - or indeed many orchestras within Australia on a regular basis due to the size and cost of the works - the students are able to gain experience with extremely taxing and demanding repertoire under internationally renowned conductors and tutors, and develop a significant network of professional and peer-based support for their future careers as orchestral musicians.

AISOI 2012
International Conductors: Krstjan Javi and Arvo Volmer
Major Repertoire: Mahler - Symphony 5, Kodaly - Dances of Galanta, Stravinsky - Petrushka, Prokofiev - Romeo and Juliet.

Item Details

Item Type:Curated Exhibition
Keywords:festival, orchestra, symphony
Research Division:Creative Arts and Writing
Research Group:Music
Research Field:Music performance
Objective Division:Culture and Society
Objective Group:Arts
Objective Field:Music
UTAS Author:Legg, A (Associate Professor Andrew Legg)
ID Code:82042
Year Published:2012
Deposited By:Conservatorium of Music
Deposited On:2013-01-15
Last Modified:2018-04-04

Repository Staff Only: item control page