eCite Digital Repository

Lunchtime Series - Heather Monkhouse


Monkhouse, H, Lunchtime Series - Heather Monkhouse, Conservatorium of Music, Hobart (2010) [Performance]


Heather Monkhouse: clarinet Karen Smithies: piano The program for this recital consisted of Dancing in the Snake Pit (1998) for Clarinet and Piano by Maria Grenfell, the world premiere of Epitomes for clarinet and piano by Don Kay (2010)and the Sonata for Clarinet and Piano No. 2 in Eflat Major, Op 120, No. 2 by Johannes Brahms (1894). The three works highlight the dynamic range possible on the clarinet. Grenfell's work was inspired by Rushdie's East, West short stories with musical ideas using a scale constructed like ragas found in Indian music. The work is in one movement and depicts a snake-charmer who awakens a snake from slumber inspires it to dance, slowly at first, and then with rapid energy. The clarinetist must work the dynamic crescendo over the 10 minutes of the work, building the intensity such that when the snake tires the release to sleep and darkness will balance the movement's opening serenity. Epitomes was written by the composer for the clarinetist and of the seven movements six end very quietly. The seven movements are all short and explore a single idea identified in their titles: the consistency of the piano conclusions require the performers to explore the different moods possible in softness, as each ending has a unique affect. Brahms' Sonata was also written for a clarinettist. At the end of his life, Brahms had determined not to continue composing, but after meeting Robert Mühlfeld he subsequently wrote four works for clarinet: the Sonata presented in this recital is the last of the four. Reflective, passionate, serene, tender and wordly, this work requires a dynamic palette that can support at every level both emotion and intensity.

Item Details

Item Type:Performance
Keywords:musical dynamics, affect
Research Division:Creative Arts and Writing
Research Group:Music
Research Field:Music performance
Objective Division:Culture and Society
Objective Group:Arts
Objective Field:Music
UTAS Author:Monkhouse, H (Associate Professor Heather Monkhouse)
ID Code:67619
Year Published:2010
Deposited By:Conservatorium of Music
Deposited On:2011-03-06
Last Modified:2015-01-14

Repository Staff Only: item control page