eCite Digital Repository

Shan Deng solo recital


Deng, S, Shan Deng solo recital, China Conservatory of Music, China Conservatory of Music (2015) [Performance]

Copyright Statement

Copyright unknown


The recital includes Prokofiev sonata No. 7, the second of his "war sonatas". Through the examination of Prokofievís fragmented thematic materials, use of cluster chords and driving pulse, Shan explored Prokofievís struggle with the soviet regime and the way these compositional techniques highlight drama and tension. Shan also studied performance techniques needed to create contrast and tension in the sonata. Shan investigated specifically the different kinds of staccato articulation from different schools, with a focus on the Russian and Chinese practices, creating an innovative new technique combining the two styles. This resulted in a public concert at the prestigious China Conservatory with an audience of 600 and the whole piano faculty.

Item Details

Item Type:Performance
Keywords:music, piano, Chopin, Debussy, Prokofiev
Research Division:Creative Arts and Writing
Research Group:Music
Research Field:Music performance
Objective Division:Culture and Society
Objective Group:Arts
Objective Field:The performing arts
UTAS Author:Deng, S (Ms Shan Deng)
ID Code:121636
Year Published:2015
Deposited By:Office of the School of Creative Arts and Media
Deposited On:2017-10-06
Last Modified:2018-01-31
Downloads:5 View Download Statistics

Repository Staff Only: item control page